'Way Back When'

A Series of Short Articles and Photographs looking back at the Club from 1989 when its' Home' was located in the Carrigaline GAA Complex.
See how far the Club has come since its inception in the mid 1980's. 
The Club also had a Weekly Newsletter - Tennis Talk.  Back Issues can be Viewed on this Website and Downloaded. VIEW 'Tennis Talk'.

First Summer Cup Win - 1997

In the Munster Final Division 5 Ladies Heineken Cup, Carrigaline beat Kinsale 3-1 in Limerick. The winning team was Mary Craig (captain), Lorraine Matthews, Frankie Bresnan and Pauline Bagnall.

Court Resurfacing

By​ ​1997​ ​interest​ ​and​ ​membership​ ​had​ ​reached​ ​its​ ​highest​ ​level​ ​to​ ​date. There was Agreement​ ​to​ ​resurface​ ​the​ ​courts​ ​with​ ​“Desso” Artificial​ ​Grass.​ ​Jim​ ​Conway,​ ​Chairperson​ ​Munster​ ​Branch​ ​of​ ​Tennis​ ​Ireland,​ ​officially​ ​opened​ the ​newly resurfaced Courts​ ​on​ ​23​ ​​August​ ​1997.

Coastal League

1994 - Carrigaline win the Shandon Crystal Coastal League.

The Team was Catherine Mulhare (Captain), Ollie Power, Aidan Wims, John Collins, Rose Barry & Jocelyn Pierce.

This was the first Carrigaline team to win the Trophy beating Fountainstown by one point (24-23).

Carroll Cup

1993 - A new Junior League was set up by Carrigaline Tennis Club and sponsorship was agreed with Tedcastles through their local representative Kevin Carroll.

A Perpetual Trophy, called the ‘Carroll Cup’ was presented to the Winners. This was subsequently named the Casey Cup and then the Wilson Cup. The Juvenile Coastal League included teams from Crosshaven, Kinsale, Silversprings, Lower Aghada, Monkstown, Fountainstown and Carrigaline. Each team consisted of four boys and four girls - two boys and two girls under fourteen years playing SNO Cup rules, and the others all under twelve years playing according to MAHER CUP rules. This tournament filled a gap in the Junior Calendar over the Winter months. Lower Aghada won the inaugural event.

New Clubhouse

The​ ​new​ ​Clubhouse​ ​from​ ​SPACECAB​ ​arrived​ ​on​ ​November​ ​20​ ​​1991​ ​at​ ​a​ ​total​ ​cost​ ​of​ ​£22,200

The​ ​official​ ​opening​ ​of​ ​the​ ​new​ ​Clubhouse​ ​facilities​ ​was​ ​on​ ​26​ ​​April​ ​1992.​ ​A​ ​brass​ ​plaque​ ​to commemorate​ ​the​ ​official​ ​opening​ ​was​ ​donated​ ​by​ ​Joy​ ​Murphy.​ ​Elaine​ ​Bermingham,​ ​President​ ​of​ ​the Munster​ ​Branch​ ​of​ ​Tennis​ ​Ireland​ ​attended​ ​the​ ​Official​ ​Opening.

Junior Highlights - 1991

Junior​ ​Members​ ​from​ ​Carrigaline​ ​Tennis​ ​Club​ ​were​ ​in​ ​contention​ ​for​ ​the​ ​1991​ ​U12​ ​Munster​ ​Squads,​ ​pictured​ ​​with Club​ ​Coach​ ​Joe​ ​Kavanagh​.​ ​David​ ​Hickey,​ ​Erica​ ​Dunne,​ ​Gill​ ​Downey,​ ​Susan​ ​Harte-Barry, Yvonne​ ​Sheehan​ ​and​ ​Mike​ ​Barrett
David​ ​Hickey​ ​was ​selected ​for​ ​the​ ​Munster​ ​u12​ ​Team​ ​to​ ​take​ ​part​ ​in​ ​a ranking​ ​tournament​ ​in​ ​Sligo.​

Junior Marathon

1990. The Juniors ran a fundraising Marathon with sponsorship from local Boutique owners ‘Ippon’. 

Participants in the 1990 Junior Championships
Winners - 1990 Junior Club Championships

The Chair - by Brian Walsh

Way Back When, the talented Brian Walsh made an Umpires Chair and donated it to the Club.

Junior Coordinator Brian Walsh Pictured with Ian, Mike, Emmett, Amy and Sponsor Ann McCarthy.

Junior Summer League 1990

The 1990 Junior Club Summer League was sponsored by McCarthy Engineering. The members of the winning team were: Emmett Scanlon (Captain), Liz Hesse, Amy Perrott, Anthony Angelini, Owen Hickey, Mike Barrett and Ian Kearney.

Turkey Tournament 1989

Participants in the Carrigaline Tennis Club Annual Turkey Tournament sponsored by Cork & Limerick Savings Bank, from left, Aidan Wims, John Colins, Conor Carbery, Jocelyn Pierce, Mark Cunningham, Marie Kenneally, Anne McCarthy, Brendan Cotter, Brid Murphy, Norma O’Sullivan, Laura Sheehan, Valerie Dunne, Rose Barry, Pat Dunne, Catherine Mulhare, Sylvia Perrott, Mary Craig, Moninne Collins, Sarah O’Mahony, Elaine Corkery, Aileen O’Gorman, Mairead Ni Bherara, Jeremy Glennon, Eddie Pierce, John Flanagan, Brian Walsh, Noel Brennan, Frank Brennan, Ron Sisk (Organiser)

Winners: Marie Kenneally 241, Aileen O'Gorman 224, Moninne Collins 223 , Sylvia Perrott 222 and Norma O'Sullivan 221.

Sean Curtin, Frank Brennan, Marie Kenneally, Mary Rea

Veterans Tournament 1989

The inaugural Veterans Tournament was in 1989 and was sponsored by Carrigaline Jewellers - now Moores Jewellers

The Mens Singles winner was Frank Brennan and the runner-up was Sean Curtin.

While the Ladies Singles winner was Marie Kenneally and Mary Rea was the runner-up.

'Carrigaline Festival' Tournament 

A Members only tournament sponsored by Cogans TV/Electrical was run in conjunction with the local Carrigaline Festival on 29th June 1989. Helen O'Connor was the individual winner with Norma O'Sullivan as runner up. Team winners were Stephen McCarthy, Norma O'Sullivan, Aileen O'Gorman and Moninne Collins

Who's Who in the Carrigaline Festival Tournament Photograph!

Judith Meade, Mairead Ni Bheara, Jeremy Glennon, Roma Cahill, P White, M Hemlock, Miriam Ginn, Lorraine Kiernan, J Cronin, Marian Hennessy, Linda Cullen, Joan Sammon, Helen O’Connor (Winner), Mary Courtney, Des Meade, Norma O’Sullivan, Aileen O’Gorman, Bevan Craig, Valerie Dunne, Rose Barry, Cathy O’Donovan, J Claffey, Carmel Downey, Moninne Collins, Anne McCarthy, Mary Walsh, P O’Donovan, Mary Craig, Tim Marnane, Owen O’Keeffe, Pat Dunne, Stephen McCarthy, Mark Cunningham, Joe Sammon, Louis Plunkett, Barry Downey, Noel Brennan, Helen Walsh, Mary Ryan, Jimmy Cullen, John Collins.

1990 Finalists in the Rosies Trophy

Rosies Cup

On June 18th 1989, the Official Opening of the Club’s Four new Courts, in Carrigaline GAA Complex, was marked by an Open Competition for Clubs in the Cork Area.

An Invitational Tournament, which became known as the “Rosies Trophy”, was held on the Official Opening Day.  

A Carrigaline team were beaten in the Final by Highfield Tennis Club. The team was Barry Downey, Pat Dunne, Sarah Cronin and Marie Kenneally.

But ,in 1990 a Carrigaline Team won back the "Rosies Trophy"' – Barry Downey Marie Kenneally, Deirdre Cremiin and Pat Dunne. The runners up were another Carrigaline Team – Sarah Cronin, Norma O’Sullivan, Sean Curtin and Brendan Cotter.

First Summer Cup Final

The Club qualified for its first Summer Cup Final in 1989 but were beaten by Mitchelstown. 

Team members were Brian Walsh, Brendan O'Keeffe, Frank Brennan, Deirdre Cremin, Mary Walsh and Mary Rea.